Certified by the Normandy Region

DDAY80: our conferences during the D-Day commemorations

During the commemorations of the D-Day landings in Normandy, from 1 to 12 June 2024, the museum will be pleased to welcome a number of high-calibre speakers for a series of lectures as part of our global programme, which can be viewed here.

Valentin Schneider

Les Allemands en Normandie (German troops in Normandy)

Valentin Schneider’s conference

| Wednesday 5 June 2024, from 5pm to 6.30pm

 

The subject: the specialist on the Second World War in Europe will be coming to talk to us about the life of German soldiers in Normandy before and during the battle. It will be a question of combat but also of cohabitation with the Norman population.

A few words about the speaker: Valentin Schneider was born in Germany in 1983. He holds a doctorate in history from the University of Caen (Normandy) and a doctorate in political science and international relations from the University of Nottigham (UK), and is also a researcher. He has worked extensively on the German presence in Normandy, which is the subject of his history dissertation in 2013.

+ Access conditions

  • Location: Greenfield Room (Normandy Victory Museum)
  • Conditions: free – No booking required / free seating on a first-come, first-served basis (max. 100 places)
Gregory Pons

L’US Air Force en Normandie (The US Air Force in Normandy)

Conference by Grégory Pons

| Thursday 6 June 2024, 4pm

 

The subject: Gregory Pons will talk to us about the American air force in Normandy at the time of the Second World War. Strategy, companies, logistics, equipment… all subjects that will be covered by this US Air Force enthusiast, author of books on the 8th and 9th Air Force.

A few words about the speaker: Grégory Pons is a discreet professional who rarely appears in the media, so this will be an opportunity to come and meet him and talk to him about a subject he is passionate about.

A plus: He will be accompanied by his friend Jean-Marie Guillou, a specialist in historical aeronautical illustration who will be speaking at the conference and whose superb illustrations you can find in our shop.

+ Access conditions

  • Location: Greenfield Room (Normandy Victory Museum)
  • Conditions: free – No booking required / free seating on a first-come, first-served basis (max. 100 places)
Benoit rondeau

La préparation du Jour J (Preparing D-DAY)

Conference by Benoît Rondeau

| Friday 7 June 2024, from 4.30 pm to 5.30 pm

 

The subject: Benoît Rondeau will be sharing his extensive knowledge of the preparations for D-Day. Author of the book of the same name, he will talk about the strategic debates and the preparatory exercises for D-Day, as well as the day-to-day life of the soldiers and some little-known anecdotes.

A few words about the speaker: Born in 1973, Benoît Rondeau studied at the University of Caen. He is a teacher, historian and former researcher at the Fondation pour la Mémoire de la Déportation, specialising in the Second World War.

Among the many books and articles he has written, he deals with D-Day, the Afrikakorps, soldiers of different nationalities, Rommel, Patton, airborne operations and many other subjects.

Before his talk, he will be presenting and signing several of his books (on 7 June from 3.30pm).

+ Access conditions

  • Location: Greenfield Room (Normandy Victory Museum)
  • Conditions: free – No booking required / free seating on a first-come, first-served basis (max. 100 places)

Influencers and the duty to remember

Jordan, Romain and Yan, serving history

| Friday 7 June 2024, from 6pm

Jordan Proust
Romain Doublet
Yan

A format combining a talk, discussion, questions and a surprise or two! Presented by Jordan Proust (Passionmilitaria), Romain Doublet (militarymachinefr) and Yan (Good Morning Army).

At this event, three influencers specialising in military history will talk about their work, their daily lives and their mission to preserve our history. They will, of course, talk about what happened in Normandy during the war, but they will also discuss with you their role in passing on history to future generations. How do you talk about history on Instagram, TikTok and Facebook?

A few words about the influencers

Jordan Proust: he is an editor, doctoral student, teacher and journalist. This 36-year-old military history enthusiast runs the Passionmilitaria community (120k followers on Facebook; 8k on Instagram and 37.8k on TikTok).

Romain Doublet: he grew up in Normandy surrounded by the relics of the Second World War. Later, after studying mechanical engineering, he developed a passion for these vehicles, which were in danger of being abandoned, and decided to (re)introduce them to the public. It gave birth to the Military Machine FR community (currently 31k followers on Facebook, 61.6k on Instagram, 238.6k on TikTok, 187k on YouTube).

Yan created the Good morning army community (107k followers on Facebook, 174k on Instagram, 50.5k subscribers on TikTok). He is interested in world conflicts and the military in a more global way, and deals as much with Indochina as with the First World War or the different army corps, but not only…

+ Access conditions

  • Location: Greenfield Room (Normandy Victory Museum)
  • Conditions: free – No booking required / free seating on a first-come, first-served basis (max. 100 places)

To make sure you don’t miss any of these events, take advantage of the DDAY 80 ticket, valid for twelve days.

The DDAY 80 ticket is a skip-the-line ticket valid from June 1 to June 12, 2024. Between these two dates, you can enter and leave the museum as many times as you like!

Of course, you can always buy our traditional one-day ticket.

Évènement labellisé par la Région Normandie

DDAY80 : nos conférences pendant les commémorations du Jour J

Pendant les commémorations du débarquement de Normandie, du 1er au 12 juin 2024, le musée aura le plaisir d’accueillir plusieurs intervenants de qualité pour une série de conférences qui s’intègrent dans notre programme général visible ici.

Valentin Schneider

Les Allemands en Normandie

Conférence de Valentin Schneider

| Mercredi 5 juin 2024,  de 17h à 18h30

 

Le sujet : le spécialiste de la Seconde Guerre mondiale en Europe, viendra nous parler de la vie des soldats allemands en Normandie avant et pendant la bataille. Il sera question de combat mais aussi de cohabitation avec la population normande.

Quelques mots sur l’intervenant : Valentin Schneider est né en 1983 en Allemagne. Il a obtenu un doctorat en histoire à l’université de Caen (Normandie) et un doctorat en sciences politiques et relations internationales à l’université de Nottigham (Royaume-Uni), il est également chercheur. Il a consacré de nombreux travaux à la présence allemande en Normandie qui fait d’ailleurs l’objet de sa thèse d’histoire en 2013.

+ Conditions d’accès

  • Lieu : salle Greenfield (Normandy Victory Museum)
  • Conditions : gratuit – Sans réservation / placement libre selon ordre d’arrivée (maxi 100 places)
Gregory Pons

L’US Air Force en Normandie

Conférence de Grégory Pons

| Jeudi 6 juin 2024, à 16h

 

Le sujet : Gregory Pons nous parlera de l’aviation américaine en Normandie au moment du conflit mondial. Stratégie, compagnies, logistique, équipements… autant de sujets qui seront abordés par ce passionné de l’US Air Force, auteur d’ouvrages sur les 8th et 9th Air Force.

Quelques mots sur l’intervenant : Grégory Pons est un professionnel discret qui se fait rare dans les médias, ce sera donc une occasion de venir le rencontrer et échanger avec lui sur ce sujet qui le passionne. 

Le petit plus : Il sera accompagné de son ami Jean-Marie Guillou, spécialiste de l’illustration aéronautique historique qui pourra intervenir lors de la conférence et dont vous pouvez retrouver les superbes illustrations dans notre boutique.

+ Conditions d’accès

  • Lieu : salle Greenfield (Normandy Victory Museum)
  • Conditions : gratuit – Sans réservation / placement libre selon ordre d’arrivée (maxi 100 places)
Benoit rondeau

La préparation du Jour J

Conférence de Benoît Rondeau

| Vendredi 7 juin 2024, de 16h30 à 17h30

 

Le sujet : Benoît Rondeau viendra partager avec vous ses riches connaissances sur la préparation du Jour-J. Auteur du livre éponyme, il évoquera les débats stratégiques, les exercices préparatoires au Débarquement mais aussi la vie quotidienne des militaires et livrera des anecdotes parfois peu connues.

Quelques mots sur l’intervenant : Né en 1973, Benoît Rondeau a étudié à l’université de Caen. Il est enseignant, historien et ancien chercheur à la Fondation pour la Mémoire de la Déportation, spécialiste de la Seconde Guerre mondiale.

Parmi les nombreux ouvrages et articles qu’il a écrits, il traite du Jour J mais aussi de l’Afrikakorps, des soldats de différentes nationalités, de Rommel, de Patton, des opérations aéroportées… et de nombreux autres thèmes. 

Avant sa conférence, il présentera et dédicacera plusieurs de ses ouvrages (le 7 juin à partir de 15h30)

+ Conditions d’accès

  • Lieu : salle Greenfield (Normandy Victory Museum)
  • Conditions : gratuit – Sans réservation / placement libre selon ordre d’arrivée (maxi 100 places)

Influenceurs et devoir de mémoire

Jordan, Romain et Yan, au service de l’histoire

| Vendredi 7 juin 2024, à partir de 18h

Jordan Proust
Romain Doublet
Yan

Un format entre conférence, discussion, questionnement et une ou deux surprises ! Animée par Jordan Proust (Passionmilitaria), Romain Doublet (militarymachinefr) et Yan (Good Morning Army)

Lors de cet événement, trois influenceurs spécialisés dans l’histoire militaire vont vous présenter leur travail, leur quotidien et leur mission de préservation de notre histoire. Ils parleront bien sûr de ce qui s’est passé en Normandie durant la guerre mais ils s’interrogeront aussi avec vous sur leur rôle dans la passation de l’histoire aux futures générations. Comment parler d’histoire sur Instagram, TikTok et Facebook ?

Quelques mots sur les influenceurs

Jordan Proust : Il est rédacteur, doctorant, enseignant et journaliste. Ce grand passionné d’histoire militaire, âgé de 36 ans, anime la communauté Passionmilitaria (120k followers sur Facebook ; 8k sur Instagram et 37,8k sur TikTok). 

Romain Doublet : il a grandi en Normandie au milieu des reliques de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Plus tard, après des études en ingénierie mécanique, il se prend de passion pour ces véhicules qui risquent de tomber à l’abandon et décide de les faire (re)connaître. Il donne ainsi naissance à la communauté Military Machine FR (à ce jour 31k followers sur Facebook, 61,6 k sur Instagram, 238,6k sur TikTok, 187k sur YouTube)

Yan a créé la communauté Good morning army (107k followers sur Facebook, 174k sur Instagram, 50,5k abonnés sur TikTok). Il s’intéresse aux conflits mondiaux et la chose militaire de manière plus globale et traite tout autant de l’Indochine que de la Première Guerre mondiale ou encore des différents corps d’armée mais pas seulement… 

+ Conditions d’accès

  • Lieu : salle Greenfield (Normandy Victory Museum)
  • Conditions : gratuit – Sans réservation / placement libre selon ordre d’arrivée (maxi 100 places)

Pour ne rien rater de tous ces événements, profitez du ticket DDAY 80 valable douze jours

Le ticket DDAY 80 est un billet coupe-file qui sera valable du 1er au 12 juin 2024. Entre ces deux dates, entrez et sortez du musée autant de fois que vous le voudrez !

Bien sûr vous pourrez toujours acheter notre ticket d’entrée traditionnel valable une journée