Certified by the Normandy Region

Wartime communications: Enigma, radio, Morse code and cartography

To mark the 80th anniversary of the D-Day landings, we will be welcoming a number of speakers specialising in signals. They will be presenting equipment and giving demonstrations. These events are part of our general programme, which can be viewed here.

Enigma Edmond Kern
Radios Patrick Grandjean
Cartographe morse Sylvie et Eric Kersch

Meet these experts on 5, 6, 7, 8 and 9 June 2024 from 10 a.m. to 7 p.m.

  • Where: inside the museum
  • Conditions: access with a museum entrance ticket

An ENIGMA machine in working order

Presentation and demonstrations by Edmond Kern

 

The subject: The ENIGMA machine which was invented in 1919 by Alexander Koch was adopted by the Reichsmarine in 1926 then by the Reichswehren in 1928. Thanks to this revolutionary machine and its billions of possible combinations, the Germans thought their communications were inviolable… It was not until 1973 that they learned that a large part of their messages had been decoded by the allies! Operators were instructed to destroy their machine along with their code books, which is why a working Enigma machine became extremely rare.

A few words about the speaker: Edmond Kern is a great specialist in ENIGMA. He travels in France and abroad to passionately discover this extraordinary coding machine whose impact on the course of the war was essential. It will show you how it works and how to encode/decode your first name.

ENIGMA by Edmond Kern

Radios during World War II

Presentation and demonstrations by Patrick Grandjean

 

The subject: Who doesn’t remember the crackle and messages from Radio Londres broadcast on the eve of the landing? The radio played a major role during the conflict and took many forms. This is what you will see (and hear!) in this exhibition where you will discover several models. Patrick Grandjean will explain to you how they work, their history and that of the men, women and also children who could be, in turn, user, saboteur, builder… Other examples will evoke the memory of production and war propaganda.

A few words about the speaker: Patrick Grandjean is a technician who is passionate about old TSFs and a specialist who likes to share his passion. He is a true radio “MacGyver” who has been entrusted with the restoration of numerous devices.

Radios ww2 by Patrick Grandjean

The Kersch couple, Sylvie and Eric, former soldiers, are two specialists in communications and logistics in times of war. They will come and share their knowledge with you and present equipment and documents. Come and chat with these enthusiasts who have no shortage of anecdotes and surprising details. You can even try your hand at Morse language.

Telegraphy workshop with Sylvie Kersch

During this workshop, Sylvie Kersch will talk about the history of telegraphy, which began in 1792 with the optical telegraph! Then came wired electric telegraphy with the ‘MORSE’ code, followed by wireless telegraphy (TSF: radio).

To explain all this, she has a wealth of documentation and various reproductions of devices whose sounds and behaviour will speak to most of you.

For the kids

Kids (and adults too) can try their hand at using the letters of their first name transformed into a MORSE code. This little exercise will lead to the award of a ‘US radio operator’ diploma.

Sylvie Kersch

Cartography workshop with Eric Kersch

Eric has a great deal of knowledge about cartography and a wide range of materials, which he will introduce to you during this workshop. Depending on your interests, he can present the world of cartography from different angles:

  • The ‘historical’ approach: from the origin of maps through the great geographers to today’s GPS.
  • The ‘Military’ approach: from Napoleon 1st, through the ‘Canevas de tir’ of 14/18, to paper staff maps and the immaterial maps of drones.
  • The ‘’D-Day‘’ approach: with maps on the organisation of operations and targeted explanations on Omaha Beach with copies of original ‘’BIGOT‘’ maps.

For the kids

A mini sandbox that allows you to reproduce in 3 dimensions a portion of terrain for which you have a map, in order to inform a combatant unit about the upcoming course of an attack.
This use of the sandbox is in the form of a ‘contract’ with a ‘mission order’ given to the child to reproduce the decor of a piece of map in the sandbox. This action is rewarded with a ‘US Engineers D Day 1944’ diploma.

Eric Kersch Cartography

We remind you that this series of demonstrations is part of a rich program offered to you on the occasion of the 80th anniversary of the landing by the Normandy Victory Museum from June 1 to 12, 2024. The full programme is available here.

To make sure you don’t miss any of these events, take advantage of the DDAY 80 ticket, valid for twelve days.

The DDAY 80 ticket is a skip-the-line ticket valid from June 1 to June 12, 2024. Between these two dates, you can enter and leave the museum as many times as you like!

Of course, you can always buy our traditional one-day ticket.

Évènement labellisé par la Région Normandie

Transmissions en temps de guerre : Enigma, radio, Morse et cartographie

A l’occasion des commémorations du 80e anniversaire du débarquement, nous recevrons plusieurs intervenants spécialisés dans les transmissions. Ils présenteront du matériel et feront des démonstrations. Ces animations font partie de notre programme général visible ici.

Enigma Edmond Kern
Radios Patrick Grandjean
Cartographe morse Sylvie et Eric Kersch

Rencontrez ces passionnés les 5, 6, 7, 8 et 9 juin 2024 de 10h à 19h

  • : à l’intérieur du musée
  • Conditions : accès avec un billet d’entrée au musée

Une machine ENIGMA en état de marche

Présentation et démonstrations par Edmond Kern

 

Le sujet : La machine ENIGMA qui fut inventée en 1919 par Alexander Koch a été adoptée par la Reichsmarine en 1926 puis par la Reichswehr en 1928. Grâce à cette machine révolutionnaire et ses milliards de combinaisons possibles, les Allemands pensaient leurs communications inviolables… Ce n’est qu’on 1973 qu’ils ont appris qu’une grande partie de leurs messages avaient été décodés par les alliés ! Les opérateurs avaient pour consigne de détruire leur machine avec leurs livres de codes, c’est pourquoi une machine Enigma en état de marche est devenue rarissime.

Quelques mots sur l’intervenant : Edmond Kern est un grand spécialiste d’ENIGMA. Il se déplace en France et à l’étranger pour faire découvrir avec passion, cette extraordinaire machine à coder dont l’impact sur le cours de la guerre a été primordial. Il vous montrera son fonctionnement et comment coder/décoder votre prénom. 

ENIGMA Par Edmond Kern

Postes de radios pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale

Présentation et démonstrations par Patrick Grandjean

 

Le sujet : Qui n’a pas en tête le grésillement et les messages de Radio Londres diffusés à la veille du débarquement ? Le poste de radio a eu un rôle majeur pendant le conflit et il a revêtu de nombreuses formes. C’est ce que vous verrez (et entendrez !) dans cette exposition où vous découvrirez plusieurs modèles. Patrick Grandjean vous expliquera leur fonctionnement, leur histoire et celles des hommes, des femmes et aussi des enfants qui pouvaient être tour à tour, utilisateur, saboteur, constructeur… D’autres exemplaires évoqueront la mémoire des productions et la propagande de guerre.

Quelques mots sur l’intervenant : Patrick Grandjean est un technicien passionné de vieilles TSF et un spécialiste qui aime faire découvrir sa passion. C’est un véritable « MacGyver » de la radio qui s’est vu confié la restauration de nombreux appareils. 

Radios ww2 par Patrick Grandjean

Les époux Kersch, Sylvie et Eric, anciens militaires, sont deux spécialistes des communications et de la logistique en temps de guerre. Ils viendront partager avec vous leurs connaissances et présenteront matériel et documents. Venez échanger avec ces passionnés qui ne manquent pas d’anecdotes et de détails suprenants. Vous pourrez même vous essayer au langage Morse.

Atelier télégraphie avec Sylvie Kersch

Lors de cet atelier Sylvie Kersch évoquera l’histoire de la télégraphie qui débute en 1792 par le télégraphe optique ! Ensuite viendra la télégraphie électrique filaire avec le code « MORSE » puis la Télégraphie Sans Fil (TSF : la radio).

Pour évoquer tout cela elle dispose d’une riche documentation et de divers reproductions d’appareils dont les sons et comportements parleront à la plupart d’entre-vous.

Pour les plus jeunes

Les plus jeunes (et les adultes aussi) pourront s’essayer à la manipulation à partir des lettres de leur prénom transformées en code MORSE. Un petit exercice qui donnera lieu à la délivrance d’un diplôme « d’opérateur radio US »

Sylvie Kersch

Atelier cartographie avec Eric Kersch

Eric possède de grandes connaissances en cartographie et de nombreux supports qu’il vous présentera lors de cet atelier. En fonction de vos intérêts, il pourra présenter l’univers de la cartographie sous différents angles :

  • L’approche « historique » : de l’origine des cartes en passant par les grands géographes jusqu’au GPS d’aujourd’hui.
  • L’approche « Militaire » : depuis Napoléon 1er en passant par les « Canevas de tir de 14/18, aux cartes d’État-Major papier et aux cartes immatérielles des drones.
  • L’approche « Débarquement » : avec des cartes sur l’organisation des opérations et des explications ciblées sur Omaha Beach avec des copies de cartes « BIGOT » originales.

Pour les plus jeunes

Un mini bac à sable permettant de reproduire en 3 dimensions une portion de terrain dont on possède la carte pour informer une unité combattante sur le déroulement à venir d’une attaque.
Cette utilisation du bac à sable se fait sous forme de « contrat » avec un « ordre de mission » donné à l’enfant pour reproduire le décor d’un morceau de carte dans le bac à sable. Cette action est récompensée par un diplôme « US Engineers D Day 1944 ».

Eric Kersch Cartographie

Nous vous rappelons que cette série de démonstrations fait partie d’un riche programme qui vous est proposé à l’occasion du 80e anniversaire du débarquement par le Normandy Victory Museum du 1er au 12 juin 2024. Le programme complet est visible ici. 

Pour ne rien rater de tous ces événements, profitez du ticket DDAY 80 valable douze jours

Le ticket DDAY 80 est un billet coupe-file qui sera valable du 1er au 12 juin 2024. Entre ces deux dates, entrez et sortez du musée autant de fois que vous le voudrez !

Bien sûr vous pourrez toujours acheter notre ticket d’entrée traditionnel valable une journée